Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Websites I’d Die Without

on November 22, 2011

Today’s post comes from a wordpress.com prompt. “What are the top five websites you’d hate to live without?” Thanks so much wordpress! (And to anyone else reading this, feel free to send me any prompts you’d like!)

 

I spend a large percent of my day on the computer – more specifically, the internet. Most of my time online is for school work and other important projects, but I do spend some time doing the things I want to. So I’m posting up a list of the top 5 sites I’d hate to live without. Remember that this list isn’t exhaustive, and it excludes the amazing, wordpress.com. Here we go!

-Hotmail.com: I check my mail VERY often. For my friends, email is their prime form of communication. There are plenty of interesting groups that I’m subscribed to. I love hearing from people about my writing work. Those are three main reasons why I would DIE without an email account. I wrote down Hotmail.com, but in truth, I would be okay with even a primitive account. So long as I got to check my mail as often as my schedule permits.

-Ask.com: “Hey! I have a question!” Ask.com has answered so many of my questions over the years. Even though google.com is the more popular option, I grew up on askjeeves.com and so have some sentimental ties. The site hasn’t let me down yet! And I just love the search engine name! Even though Jeeves was laid to rest, I’m still asking questions and getting the answers I need.

-Sparknotes.com: I’ve used this site to be a study guide before, and have recently become a member. It’s such a cool website! I especially love the sparklife section, where I can read up about a bunch of things – be it celebrities, cooking, or even blogs about books –  and they have a post up for just about anything you can think of. So I appreciate both the study and the recreational aspect to this website.

-Dictionary.com: When it comes to poetry writing, sometimes I can hit a creative slump for weeks! I am subscribed to dictionary.com’s “word of the day” and it is so fun learning all these new words. There have been a few times now, where I’ve gotten inspiration from those words. It’s a fantastic sight for people who love words! And to have an online dictionary is a bonus for me, rather than flipping through a huge hard cover book, in search of one small word in tiny font. Plus, they have a thesaurus, word games, quotes, and a word translator! I could spend all day on this site. Does that make me weird! 🙂

-Youtube.com: This website is awesome. It shows what starting off small can amount to. I hope to one day have a blog/site that’s just as successful. I’m on youtube.com normally for the music, but I sometimes watch the videos as well. I am amazed at the level of talent so many different people have! It’s a great place if you want to get discovered.

Lastly, my runners up are amazon.com, facebook.com, hulu.com, and Pandora.com. So, tell me what you think!


25 responses to “Websites I’d Die Without

  1. Brenda says:

    The Free Dictionary, Google, Hulu, Pininterest, FB,

  2. Anita Mac says:

    It is amazing how much time can be spent on the web! I’d have to add WordPress – as an avid traveller, I learn so many great things from other peoples blogs! Love to share my experiences too!

  3. Enjoyed your post! And all the comments…learned about a few new sites to ping…thanks, folks! Google is my browser home, and is my primary go-to for searches plus wikipedia is an old reliable. I am not an obsessive bookmarker, but I do have thesaurus.com bookmarked, more for writing inspiration when I hit a wall. And wordhippo.com is a fun alternate. As a designer, You-Tube and Adobe TV have been a big help for software instruction, especially since I updated my Adobe CS a few months ago. Thanks for posting this…been a fun read!

    • mjray926 says:

      Thank you! As for wordhippo.com – I’ve never heard of it, but it sounds cool! I’ll have to go check it out. 🙂

  4. Sreeja says:

    i would add wikipedia.org, nationalgeographic.com, google.com and many more to this list! oh boy! i surely do spend almost 60% of my day on the internet!

  5. Anna says:

    I love to see what sites other people hang out on, even if we have totally different choices for the websites we couldn’t live without. It’s a great reminder of how unique each of us is, even on the internet! 🙂

  6. christyb says:

    Agreed about Hotmail!!

  7. ivdanu says:

    Almost all those site plus a few more: fro great images Fine Art America and Redbubble (some stunning images over there – and I do not speak of mine…) But I am more a Google man (it just happened like that…) Interesting, your blog!

  8. themofman says:

    I don’t visit YouTube everyday or any specific site but I agree with you on the importance of YouTube. YouTube has had a far greater impact on me that Facebook or any other fly-by-night social media network that’s out there.

  9. yesisedit says:

    “If you forgot your pass word click here” is the site I think I use most … ” C)~

  10. danroberson says:

    Tough selections but WordPress has to be included.

  11. Hotmail!!! The one thing Microsoft got right! I am a HUGE Apple fan! 🙂

  12. DNatica says:

    Hulu is near the top of mine. I don’t have TV in my dorm and I love watching a show on demand while I’m getting ready in the morning!

Care to share some thoughts?

