Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

My Photo Expedition (part 1)

on November 23, 2011

I love taking photos. It’s one of my favorite pass times. Sometimes I work on editing a photo for hours, just to make sure it’s perfect. My favorite subject is nature. It’s always fun to go outside and take pictures of everything I see, in a unique angle. Sometimes I view photography as a short story. “A picture paints a thousand words.” I hope you enjoy the photos! (If you end up liking these photos, just tell me so that I can put up part two! I’d love to hear from you!)

Along a very tranquil trail

Easily my favorite pair of shoes

A baby dear

Life growing upon dying wood

I practiced a new technique with the shutter speed to make the water look smooth

This was taken at Great Falls (Maryland side) this was the first time I saw a bird like this there! I was stoked to get a picture

Also at Great Falls. It took me ten tries to get this picture and I chased the poor thing around for a good angle!

5 responses to “My Photo Expedition (part 1)

  1. Maggie L R says:

    great photos, you have an artistic eye.

  2. niasunset says:

    Photography is a poem for eyes, for soul… As you said so nicely, “A picture paints a thousand words.” You are lucky that you can make visit/walk/travel to the nature… Your photographs are so nice. Light and shadows, creatures in the forest, and to look closer… and what’s going on in this forest, etc… I loved them all. Just I wonder which program you use for working on your photographs… I usually use, photoshop and also sometimes Topaz too. My little suggestion for some of them, to use conctrast a little bit more… Like the water and the butterflies… Thank you, it is nice to meet with you. And Thank you for visiting my blog too. With my love, nia

    • mjray926 says:

      Thank you for the wonderful words of encouragement, Nia! I use Picnik for most of my photos. I’m also starting to learn how to use Photoshop – there’s so much to the program!! Cheers, and God bless 🙂

Care to share some thoughts?

