Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

How I get Inspiration

on November 25, 2011

There are so many ways to get my creative juices flowing! I decided to post up a few – post prompt curtesy of the wordpress folks.

1. Photography. I love to go out and take pictures of nature. Sometimes the pictures that I take can be turned into poems (like The Bird.) At other times, in working on my photos, I can get an idea for something else to do entirely. For my fiction works, I get a lot of the landscape from my walks around the park. I try to put myself in the shoes of an ant for a while, making the world several times larger and mysterious. Then I’ll imagine being a cat, knowing all the back ways through the city or neighborhood, crawling through dusty holes where I keep my stash of goods. Then I make that world my own. It’s kind of like that scene in Inception, where Ariadne learns to build a dream world. It’s a ton of fun! And when my pictures aren’t quite up to par enough to give me what I’m looking for, I like to browse online and see what other people have done.

2. A nice walk/jog. I love jogging in the early spring and mid to late fall. The weather is perfect!  Not only is the outdoor beauty inspirational, but the fresh air feels so good! Fresh air helps people think anyways. I make sure to take deep breaths while I’m out and about to help clear my mind and start thinking a fresh. Also, getting exercise helps calm me down enough to sit at my laptop and let my writing take over.

3. Reading magazines and blogs. They are treasure troves of information! Reading other people’s work oftentimes reminds me of the things I can share with others. I try to make it a habit to check out at least one new blog everyday.

4. Making everything a story. I will try to narrate (as interestingly as possible) as many details in my life as possible. “She sauntered over to the fridge. The cold beast grumbled it’s reply. Such a poor old refrigerator. It was seeing it’s last days. Ray paused to study the fridge. There was something she was supposed to be doing. She dully opened one of it’s heavy doors and stared in at the produce. She reached out for the fresh lettuce. Then, she froze. ‘Oh! I was off to grab my books!’ said she, slamming the door shut. As she whistled off to her room, the elderly fridge rumbled. Today was his birthday, but nobody cared.” Now that may be a little over the top, but the crazier it is, the better!

5. Listening to music. I can listen to the same song, pick it apart, and analyze it just about all day. I believe in following the best in order to be one. I’m still far from “the best” but it sure is a lot of fun to learn about lyrics. Understanding how the beat and tune go along with the lyrics is so fascinating. Plus, sometimes I will play some music while I work to help me keep my head in the zone.

6. Being with family. If I hang out with my family, there is a 50% chance I will have some sort of writing inspiration. Especially when I’m with my twin. If she’s in the room, it makes writing my poetry and story books much easier. She says the same goes for when she works, and I’m nearby. It must be a twin thing. So you can only guess that while we’ve been working on our book Terra Spar, we’ve worked separately, but in the same room!

7. Challenging myself. If I do or witness something amazing, it’s bound to send a light bulb flashing in my head. This year, I’ve had one of the best years ever when it comes to completing my new year’s goals. It’s given me plenty to write about!

8. Experiencing emotions. It’s okay to cry, to get angry (sometimes), to laugh, to sing, to run, and to scream (again, sometimes.) And when you put those feelings down on paper, amazing things happen. Not only are you framing a moment in your life, but you can also unlock other people’s moments as well. It’s a beautiful thing.

There are so many ways to receive inspiration! I would love to hear how you get yours, there’s always room here for more. 🙂

6 responses to “How I get Inspiration

  1. Eunice Racha says:

    I like sky-gazing. Nature always helps in juicing out inspiration. Nice post 🙂

    • mjray926 says:

      I haven’t done some sky-gazing in a long while! Great idea! It’s especially fun on partly cloudy days. Thanks for reading!

  2. Laura Best says:

    You’ve mentioned great ways of helping to inspire ourselves. What I find most inspiring is reading the works of other writers, especially work that is very well written. It immediately makes me want to start working on my own story. Also I sometimes find the weather inspiring as well. I might not care for snow, but whenever we’re facing a snow storm I want to write.

    • mjray926 says:

      Yes, the weather can really inspire! That is a wonderful idea, and one I’m most likely going to use. Thanks for reading!

Care to share some thoughts?

