Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Daring Big Yellow

on November 28, 2011

Here is a random page from my Freewrit Pages. I wrote out a scene between a little girl, and the sun. Manette, the girl, spends a summer trying to duke it out with her old enemy, Big Yellow, the sun. It’s just the beginning part that I’ve posted. I hope you enjoy! I wrote it to give a young child’s perspective on a harsh summer.

I sat on the burning sidewalk with the sun beating down on my head. My skin dried out from the heat, and my tongue licked my chapped lips uselessly, in an attempt to revive them. This was how summer was to begin.

The sun and I had a rough relationship. I hated the idea of conforming to his laws. I refused to go inside and crank on the A/C like the many others. But I was forced not to look him in the eye. I refused to hide under the shade of the trees with the hordes of fleas. But I was forced to feel the pain of heat. We were both tough, he and I – I’d give him that much. He was taller, and stood hundreds of feet above me, but he never fit under the bridges, he never swam under the sea, and he never crawled about in the forests. That was my territory.  But out here, exposed, now squatting by the street – this was his playground.

I squinted up at the big punk. He smirked down at me. “So this is how it’s going to be, Big Yellow?” I asked, spitting out his name with what little spit I could produce. I saw him nod. He never talked to me. He only gestured. Sometimes I thought it was to mess with my head. Other times I thought he just couldn’t talk. But he sure did know how to gesture.

“Now listen here, Big Yellow” I said. “I’m not gonna back down, ya hear? This here is my turf, and I’d appreciate it if you’d respect that.”

He folded his arms and continued to smirk.

“That’s it. I challenge you to a summer of pain. We’ll see who cracks first. Hit me with your best shot, pull out all the stops. Give me a drought. Hold back the rain. Start a fire if you have to. I wanna see what you can do. Can you handle that, Big Yellow? Have we got a deal?” I pointed a daring finger up at him. I tried not to squint too hard or make my eyes water too much.

Big Yellow nodded his approval, pointed back down at me, and headed off to prepare for the evening.

“Manette! Manette?” called Momma from the front porch. “What are you doin’ out here in this scorching weather? Come in and sip some of Grandma’s lemonade. She saved you a glass.”

“Yes, coming Momma.” I said, running into the house. I was glad to be inside, in the cold. I was refreshed from my drink. But my soul still hungered to beat Big Yellow, and this summer was my chance to do so.

One response to “Daring Big Yellow

  1. shoes says:

    Wow – I love this! I really like the imagery of the sun folding his arms.

Care to share some thoughts?

