Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

The Freedom Dancers

on December 1, 2011

I wrote this poem while thinking about the people that inspire me. They seem so free and unchained to this grounded way of thinking. They give me hope to one day be where they are  – Heaven on Earth.

 

The Freedom Dancers:

I live on the corner of gravity’s reality

My neighbors live stable, strong lives

Here down life’s road, the journey seems endless

But I know that this walk is what’s right

And there they go, once again

Spinning round, hand in hand

Like they always do with widened smiles

They seem so free, and alive

Unlike me they’ve got that fire

To carry them through another ten or twenty miles

If I could ever

Gain such courage

To ask them how they live…

It must be thrilling to dance on the sun rays

Oh what a rush you must get riding waves

And I can only imagine how to you things must happen

You just wish it, and the stars say “okay”

I remain silent, and watch them disappear

Their laughter still sings in my ears

My heart longs that freedom, but my head feels at home

Rationalize my buried, deep fears

If I could ever

Gain such courage

To dance the way that they dance…

It must be stirring to love unconditionally

Oh what a joy you must get forgiving fully

And I can only imagine how to you things must happen

Life gets dark but your heart helps you see

How does it feel to have zeal never fading?

What is it like to feel the waterfalls cascading?

I bet you never regret saying “no” to your head

Spreading wings, when the world says you can’t

If I could ever

Gain such courage

To set myself free the way that they have…

2 responses to “The Freedom Dancers

Care to share some thoughts?

