Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Selective Amnesia

on December 6, 2011

I’ve heard my father mention more than once something he calls “selective amnesia.” It challenges me every time he brings it up. Oh how many times have I, in trying to escape something, conveniently “forgot” about it? This is a poem I wrote today about it. What do you think? (P.S. I apologize if the pattern is a little hard to follow!)

 

Selective Amnesia:

Was it of convenience to you

To torch those thoughts inside

And sweep the ashes

Underneath the carpet?

Did you “mistakenly”, but purposefully

White out those troublesome words

And stuff them in the closet

Where it was darkest?

To pick and choose what we remember

A truly self-serving skill

We use it when we’re weary

And shade away pretense

And yet amidst our bubbling deception

We lie, indulge ourselves

Hoping others will fall in line

And naively forget

11 responses to “Selective Amnesia

  1. bipolarmuse says:

    Sometimes I wish to forget, I would volunteer for the medication to do so. But in doing that, we lose life lessons.
    Beautifully written, very much resonates with me.

  2. Jeannie says:

    Nice! and, I view selective memory as something of a safety switch…put the uglies back in the box and throw away the key 🙂 Self-preservation!

  3. DNatica says:

    I love this. I love the metaphors. Sometimes I do wish forgetting was as easy as sweeping memories under a rug. But if we could forget everything we wanted to, we’d never learn.

  4. mjray926 says:

    Thank you both! Yes it’s so very easy to “accidentally forget.” 🙂

  5. Eunice Racha says:

    I have a friend also who taught me about this. Can we not forgive ourselves? 🙂

    And yet amidst our bubbling deception

    We lie, indulge ourselves

    Hoping others will fall in line

    And naively forget

    -Epic.

  6. Rhubarb says:

    Deep poem. And so true. I’ve been guilty of this on occasion as well.

Care to share some thoughts?

