Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Week Sum-Up 12/18/11

on December 18, 2011

Hello my blogging friends!! Well, my first month has been vanquished! Ah! I’m very excited, and of course grateful to all of you about where things have gone. I’d be nowhere without you all!

What happened this week? I went Christmas shopping, I spent some time reflecting on what an amazing year I have had, and I ate a fantastic omelet. Really, it was fantastic. And I’m not even all that into eggs in general.

Sometime during this week, blogger Debbie Hope asked me how I’ve gotten so many followers in such a short amount of time. I’m going to attempt to give a helpful answer. Remember, I’m still the new kid on the blog so….I’m going to say nothing new. Here are the things that have helped me 🙂

  1. Post often! That’s what the wordpress folks say to do. You want to put up several posts towards the beginning of your run so that people will have plenty to read. Also, the more you put up, the more likely something is going to get read. Once other bloggers start to read your writings, they’ll be brought in forever – it’s just a matter of putting out your work.
  2. Tag your posts! This is not only how bloggers like me find your work, but it’s also how wordpress finds it too! The more tags, the better. If you give your posts tags that are pretty popular (and still relevant to your post) more people will find it as they browse around the “topics” section. Which brings me to my next point…
  3. Seek and ye shall find. This tip right here – it’s my main firepower. Spend time reading other blogs. Aside from getting my daily dose of “freshly pressed,” I go to the “topics” section, find subjects that interest me, and get to reading! My favorites to read are life, poetry, and photography. The more you read, the more you might like. And the more you “like,” the more people will be attracted to your blog. Don’t stick to posts that only reflect your blog, read them all! Don’t go to extremes though, and end up “liking” every post you come across. Have fun with this!
  4. Comment – often. Reply to all of the people who have commented on your blog. Comment on posts you find are amazing. Comment on people’s “about” section (in my case it’s Get to Know Me!) Comments show that you care, and they get people to come back!
  5. Band together with people just like you. I try to follow blogs that fairly new, because they’re in the same position as I am. They’ll be grateful for the support, and in most cases, reciprocate the favor!
  6. Put your blog link on your gravitar. I can’t stress this one enough. So I’ll say it again. Put your blog link on your gravitar!!!! Remember last week when I promised to read the blogs of those who follow me? Well, that’s proving difficult. Why? Because when I went to each of your gravitars, there were several of you without a link attached to your blog!! I hope that Debbie isn’t the only person reading this (you are reading this, right Debbie??) 🙂 I get a large amount of my traffic from my gravitar link. So please, go to your profile page, scroll down to the links section, and put in your blog address! If you REALLY don’t want to do that, then you can write a link to your blog in the comments section of this post, and I promise to read it.

So this is what has helped me. Write what you love, love what you write. A concept so simple, but so very difficult to do at times.

Thanks for reading, and here I go for week five! Happy blogging to all!

The song of the week has to be a Christmas song, yes? I’m going with Carol of the Bells (A Capella) by Barlow Girl.

21 responses to “Week Sum-Up 12/18/11

  1. Bron says:

    More good tips! I need to post more often… and probably shorter posts too, they’ve been a bit mammoth lately (and I don’t even like reading long posts myself!). I wonder about number of tags though – is it really better to use more? I thought I read on wordpress you shouldn’t use toooo many tags… #3 is a good idea and I wholeheartedly agree with #6!

    • mjray926 says:

      Thank you, Bron! When it comes to the number of tags, I think it all depends on who you ask, 🙂 it’s a “different strokes for different folks” kind of thing. For me, I say use a good number of tags, but make sure they’re relevant! I wouldn’t suggest doing 20 or more tags, but I normally end up using about 15. Another thing I do is use some tags and check to see which tag is the most popular/beneficial for my post. Then I’ll delete the ones that no one really clicks on. Hope this helps!

  2. Darrel says:

    Thanks for the tips. It’s good to know right from the get-go. You’re awesome 😉

  3. GREAT advice. love the blog. 😉

  4. thomag1 says:

    Thanks for these ‘how-to’s” They are very valuable. Your suggestions on stage fright is right on the button, in my opinion, as I have had an ample amount of performing in front of a lot of people. Actually, when singing, I’m actually more nervous leading up to my appearance. A minute or so into my performance, I am in my most comfortable place. But everyone is different. Being prepared is extremely important for me. Happy New Year!

    • mjray926 says:

      You’re welcome! I find that the longer you are on stage, the easier it is. It’s just those beginning jitters that get me! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  5. Stephen Zawodzinski says:

    Thank you for these tips! I’ll be sure to try and follow them.

    Also, I love your blog. : )

  6. […] been a great motivation for the heightened frequency of my writing, especially thanks to this great post she wrote this month, and this is even more encouraging. Thanks again […]

  7. Rivka David says:

    Hi there Ray, thanks for the tip about adding your link to your Gravatar!!! Have gone and done so …. – Rivka

  8. Thanks for liking my latest blog post. This is very good advice. I try to blog at least three times a week. Now, I’m starting to think I should do more. Thanks again, and I look forward to reading more of your beautiful poetry.

    • mjray926 says:

      No problem, Jacqui! Three times is plenty – I think! Just remember, the more time you invest, the greater the results will come to be 🙂 And thanks for checking out my site!

  9. Thanks for the good advice and for checking out my new blog. Will check in to read more! Keep it coming.

  10. I’m glad someone understands me — one of my good friends has about one frequent visitor, who is me. I wish she’d do some of these things. I should be going on a lot more blogs, but I have very little time lately! WordPress can actually get addicting.
    You know, I’d appreciate it if you’d visit my friend’s blog. She is an AMAZING writer. Seriously. She should be famous. She’s at coffeeshophorrors.wordpress.com.
    Thanks for the advice! 😀

    • mjray926 says:

      Your friend sounds a lot like me at the beginning of blogging!! Sure, I’ll check out the blog. It’s great that she has a friend like you to follow her. 🙂 And you’re welcome!
      Happy holidays!

  11. Chris says:

    Thanks for your “Like” on “Whatever it takes”! This is a great post and I’m excited to have been led to it. 🙂

    p.s. “Novice” my butt 😉

    Merry Christmas!!

Care to share some thoughts?

