Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

You’re Like….

on December 19, 2011

Here’s a quaint little poem I wrote the other day about friendship. Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

Your words are like a mirror

With each one spoken I see something in me

Your laugh is like a polished bell

Golden, with a wholesome ring

Your mind is like a rubix cube

Hard to master yet not impossible

Your eyes are like summer fireworks

Lighting up the night sky and fully remarkable

Your heart is like a lollipop

Sugary sweet and has me swirling

Your promise is like a Caribbean ocean

Crystal clear and oh so inviting

Your smile is like a rainbow

Admired from afar and often sought out

Your hug is like a cup of cocoa

Warm and something I could never go without

Your life is like a beaten path

Inartificial and full of adventure

Your friendship is like a loyal hound

No matter how crazy I get, you love me through whatever

 

27 responses to “You’re Like….

  1. Eliza says:

    Love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. inkslinger101 says:

    beautiful words…and so honest indeed ๐Ÿ˜€ loved it ๐Ÿ˜€ please do have a look at some of my work ๐Ÿ˜€ will really appreciate it ๐Ÿ˜€

    http://www.asraarurkhan.wordpress.com

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Nae's Nest says:

    Ah very nice. Warm cocoa….I like that….tasty too.

  4. Deep says:

    The comparison to the carribean ocean = brilliant ๐Ÿ˜€ Lovely poem ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Anna Mark says:

    I love reading this poem. The description after each similie made the similie itself more full and meaningful. Each couplet was like reading a burst of light, or drinking a resfreshing glass of water.

    • mjray926 says:

      Thanks so much Ana, for the compliment ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re similes that you used were very descriptive – I loved reading them!! Happy Holidays!!

  6. granbee says:

    Caribbean oceans and cocoa and hounds: what great attributes of friendship we should ALL aspire to. Thanks so much for visiting my website. I love yours and had thought I was following it. I have definitely clicked properly this time to follow you and receive notices of all new posts and comments: GREAT! Merry Christmas and most blessed New Year!

    • mjray926 says:

      Thank you so much!!! I very much enjoyed putting these similes together ๐Ÿ™‚
      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well!
      Ray

  7. MorningMist says:

    This is so touching and true – really beautiful. I love it!
    ~Mist

  8. Navneet Singh says:

    Hats off !!

    Love it.

  9. Friendships are the best kinds of miracles.

  10. I love the comparisons. Beautiful poetry.

  11. Hello, Thank you for the ‘like’. You write like a person who appreciates being loved..I recognize this..my wife is great.. :-)..very clean..nice..Peace Tony

  12. robpixaday says:

    So touching!! ::applause::

  13. Angela says:

    Gorgeous!!! Loved this line: Your promise is like a Caribbean ocean ๐Ÿ™‚

Care to share some thoughts?

