Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

What to get for Santa…

on December 24, 2011

This poem is from a prompt that Eric gave to me a few days ago. I decided to take a stab at it. Now, don’t think that I’m steeping in this whole Santa business. I know that Christmas is all about giving – but it was the gift of Jesus to all of us. I still put on my Christmas     -red and green, cookie munching, ho ho ho, snow angel- spirit though 🙂 So I hope you enjoy this poem and have a very Merry Christmas….Eve.

The giver is always overlooked whilst gift takes center stage

And all the more so, once snow and Christmas come this day and age

While sitting here on Christmas Eve glancing out the window sill

I think about the jolly man delivering gifts amongst the chill

What do you give the man who’s practically got it all?

Here’s where I regret not starting planning things in fall

Need he a coupon, or a jukebox?

For frozen toes I’d knit him warm socks

What do you give the man who’s practically got it all?

I thought he might like polish for his bells to keep their glow

Then my mind wandered to a shovel, for his battle with the snow

A recipe book caught my eye to keep him busy in warmer times

And then I panic, he is coming here tonight!

What do you give the man who’s practically got it all?

Here’s where I regret not starting planning things in fall

Need he a coupon, or a jukebox?

For frozen toes I’d knit him warm socks

What do you give the man who’s practically got it all?

Maybe some snacks for while he travels round the world?

Bummer, he’s already eaten the cookies left by all the boys and girls

Would jolly old Saint Nick care for a camera to savor his journeys?

Or some soft music to play a tune and sooth away his worries?

What do you give the man who’s practically got it all?

Here’s where I regret not starting planning things in fall

Need he a coupon, or a jukebox?

For frozen toes I’d knit him warm socks

What do you give the man who’s practically got it all?

While I cannot grant world peace

Nor am I able to afford the finer things

I’ll give him everlasting gratitude

And spread my Christmas attitude

Passing joy around to one and all

4 responses to “What to get for Santa…

  1. granbee says:

    Ray, what more valuable gift could any human give than everlasting joy spread all around? May we all so give!

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    Wow! Well done, Ray.
    I enjoyed this piece.
    Merry Christmas,
    Eric
    P/S Incidentally, I also wrote a poem to Santa – if you care to check out my blog under Thoughts & Reflections

Care to share some thoughts?

