Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Photo Op: Monochromatic

on December 26, 2011

Here are a few of my favorites! (The last one is edited, but it was still originally black and white.)

22 responses to “Photo Op: Monochromatic

  1. kirstenelin says:

    Love the elephant shot…

  2. Karla says:

    Oh, my! Love these!

  3. You have some lovely photography work here!
    Love it!
    Now just wish I could take pictures like that 🙂 X

  4. Find Focus says:

    These are fantastic! I particularly like the elephant but they’re all great. : )

  5. granbee says:

    Outstanding use of tone-on-tone, light-on-light, texture-on-texture. You have thoroughly succedded in firmly embedding these creatures in their habitats, which is what wildlife preservationists all work so hard to achieve. You certainly have done your part for these wonderful creatures.

  6. These are some the animals I watching for environmental reasons, and have seen hundreds of photos.These photos are excellent. The compositions are well done. The reflections in the water, move the eye where there should be dead space; the cropping of the elephant, fluxuating the silloute against the landscape, cropping the photo in the middle where at a glance would not be caught-! The last image maybe the most difficult, here again the edges are made clearer upon viewing; the Panda’s eyes glaces away and diminishes the”cutest” factor and in turn the panda, is an individual, the photo becomes a portrait.

    • mjray926 says:

      Wow! Thank you, Heather! The last image was indeed difficult, because I took it behind glass. Once I reviewed my shots, I found that there was something a bit in the way of the panda… that was a real bummer. So I cropped it out the of the photo, but I do wish I could have gotten more of his ear in the shot. Maybe next time I’m at the zoo, I’ll get a better picture! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  7. SL Schildan says:

    Thanks for dropping by and “liking” my blog post. I love your turtle photo. 🙂
    Shez

  8. Nanda says:

    elephants are my favorite animal eveeeer!
    great shot! 😀

  9. TheBloggaMomma says:

    Love the elephant!!!

Care to share some thoughts?

