Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Candle Box

on December 30, 2011

In spirit of the new year….

Candle Box:

Each one lit for a single belief

For trust in life and hope in peace

For God and Heaven, eternal rest

For silver linings and a simple wish

Each one lit for a single song

For a will to fight, and change what’s wrong

For relief of victims in a hurricane

For cheers sung loud at a football game

We’ve all got a candle box

Some candles melted, some forgot

Some lights burnt out, some ablaze

Some candles broken, some are safe

Light a candle for the fallen

Strike a match, pursue your calling

Have no fear in open hands

May this year be filled with candle stands

17 responses to “Candle Box

  1. Rana Armoush says:

    I know I’m lighting a candle tonight after I read this 🙂 very inspiring 🙂

  2. mjray926 says:

    And to grandbee, who sent me a comment on this through the “contact me” section. What sweet, kind words! Thank you so much for the encouragement. I apologize for the comments section not working…I’m working to fix that right now. Have a Happy New Year! 😀
    God Bless,
    Ray

  3. Jane Thorne says:

    Thank you, that is lovely.

  4. Kay Salady says:

    Often times, I feel as though I, myself, am a candle, lit at both ends, burning much too quickly to withstand the wind.

    Such a compassionate and thought provoking write.

  5. Eric Alagan says:

    Beautifully expressed 🙂

Care to share some thoughts?

