Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Week Sum-Up 1/1/12

on January 1, 2012

5, 4, 3, 2, 1….HAPPY NEW YEAR! (Oh who am I kidding, it’s noon. But better late than never I suppose.)

I have to be completely honest with you all. I really didn’t expect this blog to turn out the way it has, at least not this quickly. I’ve got 200+ followers now 🙂 Yay. Anyway, I originally put up this blog to prove myself to me. Let me cram this in a nutshell.

2010 was a real let down of sorts, and I found myself burnt out by Christmas time. I realized that there were so many projects I had started but failed to finish (anybody else ever feel that way?) That’s when I hit rock bottom and claimed that finishing what I started was hopeless. I was so very tired of the pile of unfinished projects I had accumulated over the years, and so I decided to change all that. I set goals for myself (huge goals, things I deemed impossible for me) and for the first time ever, I completed every single one. I was pumped. Who knew that if I just set my mind to something, I could actually get it done?

Rewinding to the beginning of the 2011 year, I came on wordpress and contemplated doing the daily blog challenges and whatnot. I wanted to blog for an entire year. I chickened out. *Sigh.* But I was so encouraged with my accomplishments by the end of this year, that I took a leap of faith (and a sprig of crazy) and decided to start a blog. I called it the Novice Journal.

All this to say, if you have a dream, pursue it. If you think you can’t, challenge that doubt to a duel! Good things can happen. It’s been a great experience, blogging thus far, and I hope to try out blogging for a whole year!

Once again, HAPPY NEW YEAR! May your (and my) 2012 be the best year yet!

Song of the week: World (one of my faves) by Five for Fighting. It’s all about making your world the way you want it to be. I find it encouraging.

Yours Truly,

Ray

18 responses to “Week Sum-Up 1/1/12

  1. Kyoto Wolf says:

    Happy new year to u too! *waves paw back*

  2. Because I’m a novice at this blogging business, I only just now noticed that you put a like on my post “Everywhere, everywhere, Christmas tonight.” Thanks so much. Have spent some time browsing your blog and think you are a creative devoted blogger—and your poetry is
    mesmerizing. Keep up the good work.

  3. granbee says:

    Congrats on your 200 followers. I am really enjoying your blog and look forward to a lot more inspiration from you. While achieving a lot of followers is not my priority with my own blog, but rather testing the waters regarding my adult fairytale/allegorical series to go into a book to be completed by Labor Day of 2012, I certainly see how building up your number of followers has worked well for you within the scope of your own plans. May all continue to go great guns for you. I am certainly staying here to cheer you on!

    • mjray926 says:

      Thanks, granbee. You have been very encouraging already during my venture! And you’ve got a great blog yourself. I can’t wait to hear about your book being completed! So, thanks again granbee, have a wonderful 2012 🙂

  4. 90dphillips says:

    This post really spoke to me. I feel so exhausted after 2011, but I can see that I need to set my goals high to match my dreams. I’m looking forward to a great 2012, thanks for sharing this!

  5. Jane Thorne says:

    Ray, I enjoy your blog and have picked up quite a few hints and tips from it so thank you. I have nominated you for a Kreativ Blog Award..see link here…http://janeannethorne.wordpress.com/
    many blessings – Jane

  6. “Rewinding…… to the 2011”, I realized I did a pile of useful things. It’s about time to start up something to have genuine fun with. I’m following you. Laura 🙂

  7. ( Thank you )

    – I hadn’t yet been aquainted with your blog and look forward to reading it, past posts as well as the future ones.

    Happy New Year
    (once again thank you so much for your visit. It made it possible for me to thus find your
    “Novice Journal”)

  8. 1faithmorgan says:

    Love your optimism and determination. We need more of that in the world 🙂

  9. Jane Thorne says:

    It is the motivation behind the project that’s the key I think…if your heart is truly engaged then there is absolutely no stopping you…good on you for blogging as you have Ray..your blog is always a pleasure to read and thanks for the introduction to the song…it’s a great one – thanks Jane

    • mjray926 says:

      I agree. Without the motivation, I would have never worked hard for these goals! I think it’s also what’s keeping me going with this blog. Thanks a lot, Jane, for stopping by. I’m glad you like the song!

Care to share some thoughts?

