Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

My 2011 in a poem

on January 4, 2012

I had forgotten I started writing this a few weeks ago, so I completed it last night and wanted to share it today. For those of you who haven’t, be sure to check out the back-story to this poem! 🙂

My 2011:

Chained down to goals in guilt

On the thing’s I’d failed to build

To take the challenge seemed so scary

Frostbitten heart in January

The starting point was oh so slow

But fears did melt away with snow

Steps were firm, but ever wary

Slow to rise in February

And the challenge grew much tougher

Oh, the lessons I uncovered!

Already plans just fell apart

Fighting soldier rides through March

Goals became more of a chore

Forgot what I was working for

Sometimes felt I was unable

Still pursuing life in April

Hit a rut and twisted ankle

Nothing broke, for this I’m thankful

Had me caught up in the fray

Considered giving up in May

Almost faltered flopped and bailed

I didn’t fight this hard to fail!

Only for triumph, had I room

Sights were set by the end of June

Summer’s heat gave me a beating

Working hard and overheating

Once again just sliding by

Constant battle in July

Working hard with my “goal one”

Then I found I had it done

Joy and faith came from this harvest

Faith regained in month of August

Birthday month came with a grin

My favorite season could begin!

Hopes and leaves, laid out in splendor

Boy, I had a great September

Here I finished my “goal two”

“There is nothing I can’t do!”

One last effort till it’s over

“Oh yeah!” moment in October

Since I stood on mountain top

But didn’t want this ride to stop

To wordpress I became a member

“Novice Journal” started November

Last goal conquered, I was speechless

In my heart I’ll always keep this

This year I will sure remember

How I felt when came December

20 responses to “My 2011 in a poem

  1. Nice way to sum up the year; well done 🙂

  2. That’s brilliant, I like September best and I don’t think that what you started in November is anything novice. Well done!

  3. ruralgural says:

    Nicely done!

  4. Jane Thorne says:

    Lovely Ray, we build our dreams brick by brick and I love the way you have laid this out in poetry 😀

  5. HT Sundance says:

    Very nice! Even though there’s a gimmicky quality to this, using each month, you didn’t compromise your poetics and came up with some clever rhymes—congrats on your success so far. 🙂

  6. Great reflection on the year for you. I really like that you took the time to make the each month fit, that take care and time to do as well as you have. Good luck with 2012.

  7. Thanks for liking my blog post, I am new to this blogging park. But I like what I see on your blog so will be following it from now on 🙂 Keep up the good work.

    Peace from Australia

  8. npanth says:

    That’s a nice way to sum up a year, better than a regular top ten list 🙂

  9. granbee says:

    A truly rivetting saga, was your tale of goals of 2011.

  10. thomag1 says:

    I really like your effort here….I wish I had done as well on mine.

Care to share some thoughts?

