Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Tomorrow

on January 9, 2012

Here’s one way to look at tomorrow!

Tomorrow:

Tomorrow’s not a promise, but a word to nurse our worries

It bears slothful procrastination, such a weighty mess it carries!

Tomorrow never comes no matter how hard you choose to run

We’re always pinned down to the gravity of today

 

Tomorrow lives in fog, embroidered with a smokey grey

It is made up of mirages based off of what we think and say

Tomorrow’s fuelled by optimisms, by plain-hearts, by pessimisms

It’s always a step ahead in time, and plans, and life

23 responses to “Tomorrow

  1. I absolutely love your blog!!! This piece is amazing!!! “We’re always pinned down to the gravity of today… It’s always a step ahead in time, and plans, and life” are two lines that are resounding in truth!!! Thanks for sharing your brain with the world!!! :o)

  2. Ben Naga says:

    These thought spawn many others. Hmmm …

  3. michael says:

    Very true words.
    Good poem!

  4. Anna Mark says:

    It’s so easy to get lost in tomorrow, or yesterday, but I often find it so hard to stay in the gravity of today, of each moment…I like the phrase, “gravity of today” as it feels weighty.

  5. Heather Whitley Gibson says:

    Great post! I have a new page because of personal reasons. Please feel free to follow me again at my new url http://tigersgroves.wordpress.com I’m hoping to see you on my list soon. Thanks!

  6. Judy says:

    Wow….does that ever describe the week! I can relate! Excellent writing!

  7. “Tomorrow lives in fog” I like this picture! 🙂

  8. susielindau says:

    I love this poem! It is soooo true!

  9. Tomorrow, so near but so far away, never to be reached. 🙂
    I love your writing.

  10. christyb says:

    I like the description of tomorrow being a fog. Well done. Was this one hard to write?
    christyb

    • mjray926 says:

      Thank you! This one was a little tricky – I had planned for it to be a bit longer, but started drawing a blank! Anyway, thanks for reading! 🙂

  11. granbee says:

    Very good verisifying about the frustrations of “tomorrow” sticking in our heads, blocking out the joyful light of today!

  12. thomag1 says:

    nicely put

Care to share some thoughts?

