Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Dawn and Dusk

on January 12, 2012

Here are two different poems I wrote (at two very different times) about dawn and dusk. Note that in the first poem, each mini paragraph spells either “dawn” or “dusk” on the left side. Plus, the first and last sentences each end with the word “sun.” (That was on purpose.) And the second poem is one I wrote for my upcoming book, Terra Spar. Enjoy!

Dawn & Dusk:

Dawn picks up her skirts to greet the Sun

And many join her side in wonder and wait

With ginger eyes closed, she curtsies low

Never seeing her king, yet she feels his warm presence

 

Dusk makes his way to the edges of the sky

Under shades of purple he watches the light disappear

Somewhat outcast, he greets the darkness

Kept forever at the trail end of the Sun

 

In a Day:Β 

Dawn

Golden, silent

Rising, glowing, charming

Brilliant, early, dwindled, late

Fading, ending, greying

Dusty, auburn

Dusk

30 responses to “Dawn and Dusk

  1. HT Sundance says:

    Glad to see you experimenting with different forms of poetry! I’ve never done any acrostics, myself.

  2. willofheart says:

    it has a great flow of words beautifully written

  3. hi! . . yet another smiling ray reader . .
    wink

  4. The Hook says:

    I wish I could channel your poetic talent, my friend!

  5. Wow.. these poems are absolutely beautiful. You definitely have an amazing talent. Amazing post

  6. Mikael says:

    Love love love the Dawn Dusk poem… Lovely imagery and the personification is fantastic!

  7. thomag1 says:

    mjray – thanks for dropping by to say you liked ‘Snooky and Sneaky’

  8. Well written and nicely crafted. Intrigued by the little piece you wrote about the poems, I tend to just present my work so I liked reading another poet’s thoughts on their own work. Thank you for sharing. The imagery is beautiful…..

  9. Lovely! Balance and beauty in these words….thanks for sharing!
    Celeste

  10. imashwin says:

    I love the imagery.. Beautifully written..
    “Dawn picks up her skirts to greet the Sun”.. Nice.. πŸ™‚

  11. samatwitch says:

    Those are both lovely in their own way and draw beautiful pictures.

  12. bkpaf says:

    great poem, this is absolutely beautiful, put a nice smile on my face imagining the picture you drew and nice touch there spelling out dawn and dusk!!
    lovely poem πŸ™‚

  13. bipolarmuse says:

    Oh… I really enjoyed these poems. It is so amazing to see the different talents of each poet.
    Writing of happiness and beauty is difficult for me. It is something I would like to cultivate.
    Loved it!

  14. granbee says:

    Oh, you nature lover, you! Seldom have I seen such balance and tenderness addressing dawn and dusk equally!

Care to share some thoughts?

