Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

The Bible (poem)

on January 18, 2012

I’ve decided to wade my way through a few of the poem types at Shadow Poetry! #1 up to bat…

This is my first ever written triolet! It feels a smidgen off, by hey, it’s my first swing at such a style!

The Bible:

There is hope in your hands

Within the pages of a tattered book

Cover bearing the death place of a man

There is hope in your hands

Of One with strength, when all others ran

When breath was absent, the whole earth shook

There is hope in your hands

Within the pages of a tattered book

22 responses to “The Bible (poem)

  1. Eric Evans says:

    Thanks for the encouraging word. Truly “The law of your mouth is better to me than thousands of gold and silver pieces” (Psalm 119:72, ESV). For there we find the words of life, and what hope we have in them. And for the link to the site “Shadow Poetry.” I really enjoy finding and trying out new forms, too.

    Grace and peace to you,
    Eric

  2. I need to explore different poetry forms… I’m completely new at what I’ve written lately. I like your triolet! 🙂 -ga (Thanks for stopping by our blog, btw.)

  3. J M Naszady says:

    I lke your style! Thanks for visiting my site.

  4. Hope keep humanity going. Great poem. 🙂

  5. thomag1 says:

    I like triolets, too, MJRay. Nice job….it is sometimes not as easy as one may think…although probably easy for some. Hope you do more.

    tom

  6. bipolarmuse says:

    I enjoyed this very much! I need to learn different techniques, it would be a fun challenge.
    I am a “wing it” type of girl. LOL.
    You have inspired me…

  7. danklemitis says:

    Simply put, excellent! I agree with granbee, and add that this simple poem conveys so much truth.

  8. Jane Thorne says:

    Go Ray 😀

  9. granbee says:

    Your repetition of “There is hope in your hands” is just the most encouraging description of what the Bible can do for a person I can remember reading! Congratulations on your triolet!

Care to share some thoughts?

