Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

A Hardy Helping of Humor (okay, maybe it’s not THAT funny)

on January 20, 2012

The following poem is one I wrote for Julie’s Medal of Humor. If you want to hoist this trophy around, check out the post here. I promise you, you’ll have a blast coming up with something to write. As for my poem, I wrote it on the fly so I completely understand if your laughter comes softly, and nervously. Okaaaaayyy so maybe it’s not that funny! 😉

Pictures in the Paper:
Cake left alone in an aromatic kitchen
Stare worthy, it sat there, and so finger lickin’
And Eva, poor Eva, enticed by the beaut
It deucedly smiled, played the pied piper’s flute
With her hand extended, she reached for a taste
Hesitating from visions of cake in her waist
She drooled and she trembled, my, it looked so pristine!
Eva sighed to herself, “I should quit magazines.”

And if you still have cold feet, check out the medal! It’s pretty nifty! If you do decide to participate, feel free to let me know in the comments section! I’d love to read your entries!

© Julie Catherine Vigna, 2012

 

Have a great rest of the day!

-Ray

12 responses to “A Hardy Helping of Humor (okay, maybe it’s not THAT funny)

  1. […] A Hardy Helping of Humor (okay, maybe it’s not THAT funny) (novicejournal.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. willofheart says:

    this is great entry ray, I try to write as funny entry as this but it came out not so funny …

  3. christyb says:

    Great entry Ray! I have not really written funny poems so I’m not sure if I will enter… My fave part of your poem is the line about the cake being “stare worthy” 🙂

  4. orples says:

    In reference to cake, another little thought to keep in mind . . . similar to your original jest.

    A minute on the lips, forever on the hips . . . at least after 50! (LOL)

  5. granbee says:

    Really, really good food pictures make me drool always. I thought that was the point. Ooops, excuse me, I’m just an ol’ lady with my zines!
    I enjoyed this bit of humor since it made me laugh at myself!

  6. Julie Catherine says:

    Ray, I still thought it was funny on this read, lol. I can totally see myself drooling over food photos in a magazine (and have probably done it without even realizing). Woo Hoo on you Medal of Humour – looks good on your poem! And thank you for posting it on your blog; I hope others will be persuaded to let their inner jester out in the open, too! ~ Julie 🙂

    • mjray926 says:

      I have done that many a time, myself! 🙂 Thank you for the medal, and for putting up such a post. It was a lot of fun to do! I hope a lot of people participate!

Care to share some thoughts?

