Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

7×7 Link Award and the Genuine Blogger Award!

on January 25, 2012

Happy Hump Day, everyone! It’s a day away from my favorite day of the week, the sun is peeking through the clouds (barely), and it’s getting close to the end of January! This month has just flown on by. But I’ll tell you what hasn’t flown by just yet. The feeling I get midday on Wednesdays. I’m so close, but yet so far from the weekend. Hmmmm…

I don’t know if you ever get to feeling this way too. If not, what’s your secret?! I would love to know. BUT if you’re stuck in this slow moving canoe with me, I’ve got a little something to brighten our spirits. Yes, it’s time for some awards! Who’s excited?!

7×7 Link Award

So really, this award is the 49 award, right? Right. Although, whoever came up with this probably didn’t want people thinking there were literally 49 things to do in order to accept it (or that you actually had to be 49 years old.) If that were the case, no one would want to read the posts about the reward – let alone receive it. BUT, if you look at the rules below, you’ll see that it’s really the 7×7+1 award, or the 50 award. It’s only one more thing to do, but there’s something about half of a hundred that intimidates me.  If there was really an award with that many steps involved, it’d be called the “doomsday” award, or the “gotcha!” And now I’m rambling….

Here are the steps. All 50 3 of them:

  1. Write some random fact about yourself. (Posting “I am a blogger” does NOT count.)
  2. List 7 of your posts that you think deserve to be read. (And apparently they’re categorized.)
  3. Nominate 7 other bloggers.

Fact: The longest time I’ve been at a karaoke party is 12 hours. Yup. I’m not kidding. Did I mention it was a bunch of music nerds trying to pull an all-nighter? The following day in a word: crash. (P.S. Yes, I AM a nerd!)

Time to link up to some of my favorite posts!

Most Popular: My Dying Breath. It’s gotten the most likes on my blog – ever. 42 likes? Shock and awe.

Most Controversial: Anti-Superman Enthusiast, hands down. And here’s where you think, um…Ray? There are no likes or comments on it – AT ALL! How can you say that’s controversial? Well, now that you’ve gone and brought back such a PAINFUL truth, let me explain. For a little bit of background, I posted this when I had a hearty 0 followers reading my blog. But it was also around the exact same time I submitted this post to Sparknotes (without all the fancy edits) and it got accepted! This post got a lot of controversy going. I admit, it was a pretty brutal thing to write, but I have some serious angst with Superman. What’s wrong with me?! 🙂

Most Helpful: Week Sum-Up 12/18/11. My two cents on this whole blogging spiel-thingy-ma-jig.

Most Underrated: Invisible. While I nearly pried my pupils out in frustration while writing this, I’d say this poem came out fairly well.

Most Surprisingly Successful: To Think of You. This post was the first one to prove to me that my words were being read. It was the first to actually get “likes,” and that got me really excited.

Most Beautiful: Two Worlds Within One. I loved writing this one!

Most Pride Worthy: Photo Op: Dragonfly. Those pics are my best so far when it comes to trying out “macro.”

I want to thank Eliza for passing this award on to me. Go read her blog, it’s awesome!

Now to nominate 7 other blogs…

Bipolarmuse

Elvishjesusfreak

wordcoaster

Michelle Alzola

Haiku Bear

2summers

Tumbleweed & Poppleswamp

The Genuine Blogger Award

Thank you willofheart and Julie Catherine for nominating me for the Genuine Blog Award! There don’t seem to any rules attached to this one, so I’m just going to nominate two wonderful bloggers. Drumroll please! Drrrrrrrrrr…….

Poetry and Works of Stephen M

measuringthesky 

Defuse your midday/week blues by checking out all of these amazing blogs.

Until Thursday,

-Ray (The Ultimate Boredom Fighter Extraordinaire)

25 responses to “7×7 Link Award and the Genuine Blogger Award!

  1. […] 7×7 Link Award and the Genuine Blogger Award! (novicejournal.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] 7×7 Link Award and the Genuine Blogger Award! (novicejournal.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] 7×7 Link Award and the Genuine Blogger Award! (novicejournal.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under: Blogging Award, E-Book, Musical Tourettes, Novel In Progress, Writing   |  Leave a Comment Tags: Award, Blog award, Brad Pitt, Morgan Freeman, Seven (film), Site Award […]

  4. willofheart says:

    Congratulations Ray you deserve it… 🙂

  5. granbee says:

    Congrats, Ray. I must say, the Dragonfly was my favorite post of yours. And I have some differences of opinion with Superman, as well. Clark Kent afraid of Lois Lane–come ON, already!

  6. bipolarmuse says:

    Congrats!!! And thank you for the nomination… I am beyond grateful. ♥

  7. christyb says:

    Congratulations on the awards Ray! Keep up the posts, poetry, and photos, I like the mixture here 🙂

  8. Congrats, Ray and thank you for nominating my blog 😀

  9. thebeautifuls says:

    Congratulations Ray!!

  10. Jane Thorne says:

    Go Ray…keep writing and congratulations to you – Jane 😀

  11. Julie Catherine says:

    Congratulations on your well-deserved awards, Ray, enjoy! ~ Julie 🙂

  12. Wow, Congrats! I hope to one day get 1 award…lol.

  13. Eric Alagan says:

    Congratulations, Ray. Enjoy 🙂

Care to share some thoughts?

