Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

A Buffet of a Post

on January 27, 2012

Today is FRIDAY! And as I promised at the beginning of my 500 week, (click the link for some background) I have a special post for the day. It’s a bit of a buffet post. And what could be better on a Friday, than a free meal? So grab your forks!

Know that when I say “buffet” I mean everything. It’s an all-in-one post!! First up, I’m serving up a poem. This is a Naani, a form of Indian poetry. My source: Shadow Poetry

Staircase:

Not up nor down

Stands displayed

Bearing the weight of feet

And feels a constant stomping

You still here? I know it was a little vague, but you can’t get too deep on a Friday! My thoughts are trained on the weekend! But while it’s still Friday, I’ve got a little photo magic to roll your way. I call it, Wall in the Mall.

It started out with a picture I took of a stuffed panda my twin sister got me for Christmas. Then…well, I got a little crazy with the edit.

Next, grab a glass and check out these lyrics! They’re the refrain to the song, Eternity by Disciple. I think they’re beautiful! (I got the lyrics from azlyrics.com)

Where the desert is covered in roses [Isaiah 35:1]
Where I can outshine the stars in a single day [1 John 2:25]
The face of God isn’t hidden [Revelation 22:4]
When I wake into eternity [1 Corinthians 15:51-53]

Where the shadows are never discovered [Revelation 22:5]
Tears are nothing more than a memory [Revelation 21:4]
Death isn’t alive any longer [Revelation 20:14]
When I wake into eternity

Since you’re probably getting full by now (I know I am!) I leave you with a sweet dessert: a quote, by Henry Van Dyke.

“Gratitude is the inward feeling of kindness received. Thankfulness is the natural impulse to express that feeling.”

I am truly thankful to all of you who joined me this week! A special thanks to all of my followers, and for those of you who have encouraged me along the way!

Cheers!

Ray

12 responses to “A Buffet of a Post

  1. christyb says:

    I like buffets, and I love your post Ray! A great mixture of all the items I like reading on your blog. Hope you are having a great weekend!

  2. Jane Thorne says:

    Not a buffet but a banquet and I enjoyed each serving…well done Ray…keep writing – take care, Jane

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    Very eclectic, Ray. Shows your versatility. Have a great weekend, Eric 🙂

  4. I love the edits made to the photo. It looks wonderful!

  5. granbee says:

    Ray, you are truly a beautiful person and a master buffet chef! Let’s stomp right up that golden staircase to the party in the skies! As we stomp in a state of Grace, our souls are actually at that banquet table already, you know!

Care to share some thoughts?

