Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Peach Puddle Pansy Park

on February 1, 2012

While rummaging through a big pile of folders filled to the brim with old poems and stories I’ve written, I came across my giant black folder. The thing is pretty thick, and it’s stuffed with things I had completely forgotten I’d written. Here’s a poem I wrote waaaaaay back in the days of Elementary School entitled, Peach Puddle Pansy Park.

Peach Puddle Pansy Park:

Fancy flowers filled with fragrance

Flimsy frogs fling and flop

Whirly wind winds around

Happy hoppers hop, hop, hop

Slender spiders spin sticky silk

Tall trees twist tiny twigs

Mini mockingbirds make marvelous melodies

Falling fruit if figs, figs, figs

Silent sisters stride skinny sidewalks

Bright-eyed boys bound about

Dirty dogs dig deep ditches

Punished people pout, pout, pout

Worried writers wait for wonder

Destinations dull and dark

Sad citizens slowly split

Peach Puddle Pansy Park

(as a side note – today I’ve posted my 100th post!!) 😀

18 responses to “Peach Puddle Pansy Park

  1. Lovely to read out loud.

  2. Persephone says:

    Love this poem and love the fact that you wrote it when so young!

  3. Perfect 100th post – I love the alliteration you used so well when still so you, obviously there was a poet growing there!

  4. I loved all the alliteration in this- very nicely done!

  5. Julie Catherine says:

    Well, look at that – you were writing alliterations probably even before you knew what an alliteration was! Very cool, and lots of fun to read – love it! And huge congrats on your 100th post! Woo Hoo! ~ Julie 🙂

  6. Barbara says:

    Wow, your 100th post – so cool! Congrats! And what a fun poem to celebrate. I enjoyed reading it.

  7. samatwitch says:

    Congrats on your 100th post. You obviously showed your talent for poetry at a young age. 😉

  8. 90dphillips says:

    I live finding old things, congrats in the 100th post (quite the accomplishment) I loved this!

  9. granbee says:

    Congrats on the 100th post! You have just energized me all over again. Thanks! I am very glad you closed out this bouncing, joyful ode to the joys of the park visit with the acknowledgment that some people still don’t “get it” and go away sad and worried!

Care to share some thoughts?

