Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

on February 14, 2012

Happy Valentine’s Day!!! Have you had a great one? I’ve ended my day with some great family home-cooking, and there’s nothing like the smell of tasty enchiladas! Enjoy this poem on V Day it wrote a little while ago.

Love:

Love is syrup on pancakes and a deep sincerity

Love is confused clarity

And it’s starring me

Down the barrel

Bull’s-eye

Love is fleeting, passions strung to a butterfly

Love is a slice of pie

In mid-July

Frozen beverage

Ecstasy

Love is a beaten man nailed to a cross

Love is stamped on a heart, embossed

No matter the cost

Knowing through whatever

You are loved

Love is a donated smile purging a murky soul

Love’s what makes us whole

And this I know

More than once

It’s filled me

Thanks for reading! And I want to thank those of you who have already entered this week’s challenge! It’s been fun reading through them! Remember, the challenge ends on the 19th, and you can submit as many entries as you’d like! The more the merrier! 🙂 Have a wonderful rest of the day!

14 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. granbee says:

    The beaten man on that cross showed us best how to love, so now we make pancakes and pies and self-sacrifices just because He taught us how to really love! Bless you for this Valentine Eve poem! I love the way it mixes the mundane with the eternal.

  2. Princess says:

    very beautiful lines..

    thanks for sharing and
    have a nice day

  3. Oh, lovely. I’m glad to know someone enjoyed their Valentine’s day more than me. x3 I’ve been sick all week!

    Nice poem you have there, I see what you done did. Excellent use of metaphor and analogy, and I enjoyed the meter as well as the end. Simple and complex. Fits Valentine’s Day to a V, as it were~

    -Eris

  4. Christy says:

    Okay how could I NOT love a poem that talks about food! Seriously though it is well written and I love the comparisons. I hope you had a wonderful Valentines Day Ray. It sounds like you did 🙂

  5. as always I enjoy your poetry. 🙂

  6. thomag1 says:

    very nice….Happy Valentine’s Day!!

  7. 90dphillips says:

    Wow, loved this! Your words are blessed indeed 🙂

Care to share some thoughts?

