Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Family

on February 17, 2012

My family is soooooo awesome! I had kind of a rough day today, and they were there to help me through it. I love them all so much so I wrote a poem about it! 🙂

Family:

My family is there to love me

Even when I’ve messed up

One too many times

For me to forgive myself

My family is there to treat me

To homemade bready bliss

And I cannot help but wonder

How I ever got so lucky

My family is full of  little things

Like stories read across the dinner table

And laughter that floats about the halls

Even when everyone is silent

My family is near to make me smile

And shed tears beside my bowed head

They lift me up when I fall in the shadows

They make me happy that they happened upon me

8 responses to “Family

  1. granbee says:

    Our families really do “happen upon” us, don’t they? Wonderful way to phrase this type of almost involuntary bonding love and support. I had not thought of it exactly this way before. Thank you so much, Ray!

  2. Christy says:

    I hold my family so close as well. I’m glad they are a good support for you and how nice to express your love through a poem!

  3. thomag1 says:

    very respectful, mj…..nice poem too….have a nice weekend

  4. Nikashblogs says:

    I love your blog! It would mean a lot if you could check out mine? And let me know what you think about my poems? http://nikashblogs.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/poetry/

Care to share some thoughts?

