Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Knew it All Along

on March 27, 2012
Upper Yosemite fall with reflection in a flood...

Upper Yosemite fall with reflection in a flooded meadow. This meadow gets flooded during Spring time, and sometimes after Autumn's rain storms (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Knew it All Along

It’s been seven days since sailing from Virginia

Since tendrils of sunlight graced the sea

I hear geese cry above, shouting “homebound, my love”

To a voyage somewhere in the fog

Wings thud their way cross the skyline

Feathers tread lightly on clouds

Whispers of rain make their way through again

Days are short and the night lingers long

Autumn never told me she’d be coming

Summer’s chased away beyond the blue

Farewell master sun, for the chill has begun

Still surprised, though I knew it all along

It’s been six months since I tasted ocean air

Since the jostling waves tossed the ship

Concrete feels dead to me for my calling’s the sea

And my heart sings a sad sailor’s song

I dusted the snow from the front porch

The sun gleamed too bright in my eyes

The wind mocks my skin, shouting “Spring’s come again”

Yet the weathermen all tell me that’s wrong

Spring never told me she’d be coming

While Winter snuck so silently away

Farewell mister cloud, till you next come around

Still surprised, though I knew it all along

2 responses to “Knew it All Along

  1. granbee says:

    How totally wonderful that we can still be surprise by spring’s arrival! Bless you for such a rollicking, yet lilting poem celebrating the changes of venues and the changes of season–indicating some changes and freshening up on the heart, right?

Care to share some thoughts?

