Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Black & White

on April 28, 2012

Here’s another poem – I’ll add a picture to it later 🙂

Black & White

One half joy and the other half pain
Covered expressions in a masquerade
Toying with my mind in an amateur’s game
I’ve had it up to here

You tell me that you love me then you shrug off the lie
Cool exterior yet I’m seething inside
I draw out the boundaries still you cross every line
Patterns won’t disappear

You beat me till I’m seeing stars around Saturn
I lock my thoughts up tight
Tell me why I’m still sympathetic to you
When you’re so, so – black and white

Monkeys go bananas and take over my mind
A decent minute filled with silence – ever harder to find
Words so onyx, think I’m gonna be blind
But then you tie me up with pearls

I weep when you tear up, fight your battles head on
When my engine starts to rattle suddenly you’re gone
Shoulda seen the scam before your act came on
You’ve run out of luck with this girl

You beat me till I’m seeing stars around Saturn
I lock my thoughts up tight
Tell me why I’m still sympathetic to you
When you’re so, so – black and white

Master at illusions, seems this is your last show
I’ve seen every little trick, so Jack, you’d best hit the road
The closer you come, the more I wanna let go
Have fun making this one right

I’m done with the squabble now it’s time for some new
Coughing up your dust, oh yes, we’re finally through
Don’t bother coming round, no longer begging for you
Can’t stand another black fading into white

You beat me till I’m seeing stars around Saturn
I lock my thoughts up tight
Tell me why I’m still sympathetic to you
When you’re so, so – black and white
I’ve cried rivers for you and I’ve bruised up my skin
Can’t believe I could be so blind
Congrats, beginner’s luck, but now there’s no way you’ll win
Goodbye – bye black and white

4 responses to “Black & White

  1. granbee says:

    Oh, we may not have been literally beaten, but we have all had at least one B &W lover, Ray! Extremely good poem expressing the ying and yang of how we now feel about having stayed in such a relationship so long!

  2. I really liked the grim repetition of the refrain- the speaker sounds very disillusioned and loved how the stars are used as a sign of something horrible rather than good. It was a nice subversion 🙂

Care to share some thoughts?

