Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

Faith on the Way

on April 30, 2012

Hey all!

Once again, it’s been a while! Ever found yourself chasing Time’s coattails, and just when you think you’ve gotten a hold on things, you come to realize that it was a hologram? :/ That’s how it’s felt when it comes to blogging. I’m working on a bunch of pieces though, and will work to post them up soon! I want to thank everyone who’s still following, even though you’ve received “bits-o-blog” for several weeks now. I can’t wait to fully hop back on the blogging train soon!

Blogs, peace and elbow grease,

-Ray

For now, enjoy this poem I wrote 🙂

Faith on the Way:

A glimmer of hope pierces through the sky

Snaking its way to these tired eyes

The sounding of drums in the distance

My heart pounds as I listen

This could be the end of an ever restless night

My sword is worn and my thoughts are scattered

Beginning to think my bloodied tears have ceased to matter

A wail from the pit of my stomach

Long awaited days of peace are coming

Pain and regret’s hold of me is bound to shatter

Courage will soon ride in upon his steed

The captives cry in anguish

Fetters scrape, and Faith, she bleeds

Honor and thunderous glory

Saved for the last page of the story

One last battle’s left till we are free

The raging war between myself and me

sun behind clouds. Français : Le soleil derriè...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

God has gone ahead and cleared the way

My enemies strewn out under my feet in disarray

Not a soul was left to run

Thousands of soldiers, overcome

I won’t forget this feeling I have gained today

No matter the odds and victories in the war

I’ve still got to believe my enemy is no more

It’s hard to gain the faith

Even when triumph stares me in the face

I hide in wait, I see proof but am still unsure

Please give me the strength to overcome myself

I know the truth inside, but gain my faith from someone else

So clear to see that the combat has ended

Then why are my doubts coming on heavy handed?

Instead of leaping on clouds, I sit here and dwell

Still I know

Courage will soon ride in upon his steed

The captives cry in anguish

Fetters scrape, and Faith, she bleeds

Honor and thunderous glory

Saved for the last page of the story

One last battle’s left till we are free

The raging war between myself and me

None can make me believe

It’s a choice made solitarily

The struggle to let go and breathe

Starts to get a choke-hold on me

God has a power that stands

I willingly fall into His hands

Worship through following commands

And trusting He has a plan

Courage will soon ride in upon his steed

The captives cry in anguish

Fetters scrape, and Faith, she bleeds

Honor and thunderous glory

Saved for the last page of the story

One last battle’s left till we are free

The raging war between myself and me

A glimmer of hope pierces through the sky

I know the truth inside, but gain my faith from someone else

No matter the odds and the victories in war

I must remember who I’m fighting for

God has gone ahead

God has gone ahead and waits for me there

6 responses to “Faith on the Way

  1. granbee says:

    Oh, Ray, this very strong and very well-written narrative poem expresses so well what I went through for decades about being a writer! The battle between ourselves and ourselves has already been won by God who is waiting just up the road for you, you know! I sense that you are just about to take His hand, “walking and talking with Him in the cool of the evening.”

  2. polly says:

    great poem

  3. weedimageoftheday says:

    Thanks for this poem today. BOY, do I need the victory to come soon. I guess you’ve been feeling that way too.

Care to share some thoughts?

