Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

I Just Missed You

on May 19, 2012
Hubble Spies a UFO

(Photo credit: NASA Goddard Photo and Video)

I Just Missed You:

The weight of the sun’s rays

Weighs heavy on my skin

Tempers flare up at every corner and I easily give in

My phone is hanging on a thread

Made one last call and then it’s dead

And the distance grows between our beating hearts

Can’t talk now got a meeting

And we’re meeting up at ten

Between home and work it’s a blizzard – still got those bills to send

I hear a knock from the flip side of my door

With the chaos inside it’s easier just to ignore

Steadily the chasm widens, now we’re miles apart

From sunrise to sunset

Taking promises unmet, toss em’ in with all the rest

Riding a train, passed your town a few times – stopping never crossed my mind

It’s safe to say

I’m thinking maybe I just missed you

Yes, that’s it, I just missed you

The city’s gotten quiet

Quietly killing me inside

The hustle and bustle blew away on the double with no warning sign

Winter is sitting on your shoulder

Since when did your eyes get so much colder?

Seems like you live on the opposite side of the planet

Pity and rage consume me

All consuming are my shamefaced thoughts

Should’ve stopped by, could’ve said “hi” now I face the chopping block

Paying taxes from a lacking friendship

Caught up in life and now this has ended

Clearly we’re light-years away, and our ships cannot be landed

From sunrise to sunset

Taking promises unmet, toss em’ in with all the rest

Riding a train, passed your town a few times – stopping always on my mind

It’s safe to say

I’m thinking maybe I just miss you

From sunset to sunrise

Tears are rolling from my eyes, but this trial should not be a surprise

Riding a starship and I’m coming for you – after all I’ve put you through

It’s safe to say

I’m thinking maybe I still miss you

I’m thinking maybe I still need you

Searching until I find you

Yes, that’s it, I’ll find you

2 responses to “I Just Missed You

  1. granbee says:

    Reconnections are so very important. While there is life, there is hope. Very, very moving poem to express the internal journey a long-absent friend/family member/lover is making back to the side of the one long missed and put off!

Care to share some thoughts?

