Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

My Good Friend, Mr. Write

on September 4, 2012

Hey everyone! I hope you’re having a great September so far! I’m still working on many posts for my IOMH contributions. I hope you all enjoy them 🙂

For today’s post, I’m going to write – something I haven’t done for my blog in what feels a millennia. But through my Contact Me page, a few bloggers requested that I go back to doing some writing. This post is for you guys. My post was inspired by WordPress’ recent Daily Post writing prompt, entitled, The Sound of Blogging. While I would have linked this post up to their page last week and joined in to see who’d be Freshly Pressed, I don’t think I’ve entirely done what they asked. Their prompt kinda manifested into something slightly different than expected. And so I present to you my latest written creation:

The Feel of Writing

I know I’m invested in writing something when words shoot straight from my mind to my fingertips. The same feeling hits me right after I dive to catch a Frisbee – and actually catch it. It’s that panting sound, and the feeling of dirt stained jeans, mixed with the sweet feeling of victory that brings me joy. The only downside is that no one I was trying to impress is nearby to adore my triumph.

I know I’m devoted to writing something when my keyboard becomes a palette. Every letter I type splashes across the canvas and my blood turns rainbow. It’s the same color I turn when squinting through a viewfinder, knowing full well I’m starring at the perfect photo. All I have to do is press a button, and the portrait is mine forever. And for a moment, I see eye to eye with Vincent van Gogh. We totally get each other, but he’s no longer here.

I know I’m zealous about writing something when my brain is so full of words that I sound things out as I type. My fingers stomp upon every key, triggering concerned glances from everyone present. It’s the same feeling I get directly after singing my heart out. The sound made from silence; When every emotion known to man swells up inside of me and awe overtakes me. It’s that pure appreciation that always leaves me feeling whole. The problem is, I can’t sing all the time. Unfortunately, the public has turned down life being a musical – plus, I can’t make up relevant songs on the fly.

But writing, well, writing never disappoints. Writing is my home away from home. A place where I can live life as I please, and there are no consequences. The feel of writing is like none other.

Writing is a journey. Your pencil is your traveling stick, your heart is your compass. Journey on, and you’ll discover a world worth writing home about.” – Mrs. Thyme (a character from a book I wrote a few years back…if only I could find that book!)

Painting by Vincent van Gogh (I got the picture from Wikipedia)

3 responses to “My Good Friend, Mr. Write

  1. Barbara says:

    That quote at the end is awesome. No, it’s HOT! Love it.

  2. granbee says:

    Writing is, for sure, a journey! Would love to be traveling through countryside as pictured by Van Gogh here!

Care to share some thoughts?

