Novice Journal

A little this – a little that!

I Came, I Cringed, I Tried It….

on October 5, 2012

…..And I’m still alive to tell the tale. I’d say that’s an accomplishment. While most wouldn’t call me picky, I can tend to be pretty skeptical when it comes to the “exotic” edible options. But after much, MUCH coaxing by zealous family members, I picked up a few prickly pears (or cactus pears according to their labeling) to try. The moment I got home from the Spanish market -which holds a plethora of exotic edibles- I “youtubed” how to eat prickly pears. Most videos went as far as to show how one would go about harvesting the average-pear-sized fruits, and I have to admit, it scared me. Really? People use blow torches? The little thorns pricked the people in almost every video I watched. Was I to get one of those down my throat?! Yikes!

Long story short, I ate some the wrong way and it wasn’t all that bad. It tasted just like the near 15 videos told me it would (I kid, it was more like 14 vids.) It tasted like a mix between a beet and a pear. It’s insides were the color of pomegranate juice and shaped like the inside of a papaya (seeds on the inside middle, pulp surrounding them.) The texture of the pulp reminded me of ground up carrots or something along those lines. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, but it certainly takes some getting used to.  And now, a quick pic!

The ones I got were green on the outside, rather than red like the ones I’d seen online. Supposedly these were okay to eat too. Fingers crossed!

4 responses to “I Came, I Cringed, I Tried It….

  1. Congrats on stepping out of your comfort zone and trying something new! It’s SO hard to do, especially when you don’t even know where to begin with preparation.

  2. I grew up with very standard foods, meat potatoes and a vegetable. There were only a few options for vegetables (corn, peas, lima beans, green beans). I didn’t want my children to grow up like that so I would let them pick one thing from the produce section to try each week. One week my son grabbed a star fruit. I had never heard of this or tried it. This was before the internet, so I called around, but no one knew what to do with this. Finally I thought of my hippie neighbor. And of course she told us how to eat it. It wasn’t something I would buy again, but we lived too.

    • mjray926 says:

      I’ve only had star fruit once before too. Not sure what I thought of it…since I haven’t gotten it again, that must mean I wasn’t crazy about it haha. Thanks for stopping by and sharing! 🙂

Care to share some thoughts?

